Most of the alder trees in Racine City are unchallenged in the 2022 Spring Elections | Local News I Racine County Eye

RACINE – A single seat on the Racine Joint Council will be held in the 2022 Spring Elections scheduled for Tuesday May 5.

Ballot for the spring election

Seven even-numbered alders are available for election for a two-year term. The alder for District 9 is on the ballot to fill the remaining year of the term.

Two candidates will be on the ballot for the District 4 seat currently held by Edwin Santiago, who declined to re-elect after a single two-year term. The candidates are: Michael Schrader from 1636 Chatham St. and Amanda Paffrath from 1828 Michigan Blvd.

District 4 consists of neighborhoods on the near north side of Racine, roughly bounded by Lake Michigan, the Racine Zoo, Douglas Avenue, and Hamilton Street.

The only other incumbent not seeking re-election is Jason Meekma of District 14. First elected in 2016, he was President of the Common Council from 2018-2020. The candidate for his seat is Alicia Jarrett of 5214 Crown Ct.

Other incumbent Racine Common Council incumbents appearing for the general election in the spring election are: Mollie Jones (District 2), Jeffrey Peterson (District 6), Marcus West (District 8), Terry McCarthy (District 9), Sam Peete ( District 10) and Henry Perez (District 12).

Perez, who has represented District 12 since 2014, is also on the Racine County Board District 9 ballot, which includes parts of the west side of the city. In the primaries on February 15, he will compete against two other candidates.

In addition to the seats on the Joint Council, the city’s municipal judge will stand for election for four years. The incumbent Robert Weber is against it.

To view the Racine Common Council districts, visit the Racine City’s Find Your City Aldermen page.

The Racine County Eye and Kenosha Lens are committed to providing you with accurate and timely election information. We are your source for local news that serves our diverse communities. Sign up today to stay up to date with the latest election coverage and other news.

Comments are closed.